Why Posting Baby Pictures to Social Media is OK (To An Extent)

With the birth of my niece, Image

I am beginning to see the need to post to the world about a recent life changing event, even though I have not always been a big fan of it. For one, there are only a handful of people that can actually experience it at the hospital, so social media has begun to let your friends and extended family be at the hospital with you, even if it is through a phone or computer. But I would like to give some potential tips to the people that have kids/babies, and the people reading those posts, so everyone can co-exist in the social media world (by the way, in now way am I calling out anyone or I guess it would be called “sub-blogging”, anyone. I love all my friends with babies and families even if I don’t know you that well).

  • The “Overposting” – This is a major flaw in several people’s social media posting. Multiple pictures a day is a huge no no. I realize that you are super proud of your kids/grandkids (we all are proud that they have food on their face as well) but multiple a day can be a bit too much. The one a week, or one every other day telling people what y’all are up to is welcome, but just try and cut down the multiple a day.
  • The “My Baby is Beautiful”- Most new born babies are just not that cute. It is nothing against the parents, but that baby just came out of a womb that he/she had been growing in (the unreal-ness of that will be for another post) and I would never except anything to be beautiful coming out of that. One day your baby will be beautiful/handsome, but just hold on for a bit.
  • The “I Hate People That Post About Babies on Social Media”- We all have a few of those friends that are very open with their “hatred” towards people that post of their kids/engagements/marriages. Just take it down a bit. Whenever you have a kid, or your brother or sister have a kid, or whenever you find that special someone and want people to know about it, you will understand. Give the people a break that post about what is important in their life. If you don’t like it, then unfriend them (which I bet you won’t). 
  • The “I’m Never Having Kids” Comment- Just stop. Kids are the biggest miracle in life, and you are saying that you never want to have something in your life passed down to the next generation through blood? Just stop. 

This isn’t the say all end all, but I hope people reading this can understand both sides of the post, and have something to think about next to you see/post that baby picture on social media.

 

-JH

One comment

Leave a Reply

